GHD MK4 Flat Iron Review

GHD MK4 Ceramic Flat IronWith so many flat irons on the market, how do you really know which one is right for you? I’ve been testing them out to see how each one works, and why. Today I’d like to share my review of the latest wonder from GHD, the GHD MK4 1″ Ceramic Flat Iron. Touted as one of the best flat irons on the market, I absolutely loved it.

Incorporating state-of-the-art styling technology, the GHD MK4 Straightener and Styler looks very similar to a lot of flat irons out there, but that’s where the similarities end. It’s different, and really, it’s better. All of you CHI fanatics take note, if you ever try a GHD, you’ll see what I’m talking about, and if you currently use a ‘drugstore variety’ flat iron, you’ll be amazed.

The MK4 has a rounded barrel for improved curling and styling, and let me tell you, it curls as easily as it straightens, giving you the ultimate in versatility. You should know that most flat irons will produce curls, but with this iron, it was easy and the curls were nice. I chalk that up to the way this ceramic iron smoothed my strands. It took out all the texture. It didn’t just ‘flatten’, it smoothed. And curled. Major props for that.

The GHD MK4 also has advanced ceramic heaters that are designed to sense the porosity of your hair type to apply and maintain the perfect amount of heat with every glide. That’s cool. Really cool. The iron stayed hot the whole time – no damaging ‘hot spots’ like some other brands – you know who you are! But honestly, it didn’t need to stay hot so long because it straightened my hair super-fast.

The ceramic plates that promise smooth, static free glides took out all my frizz in no time. Some flat irons have been known to create static on hair – especially ones with Tourmaline – so static-free was a huge plus. This iron also had an extremely good grip of my hair while styling, which is very important when choosing a flat iron, because it usually translates into quicker styling with less passes down the same section of hair. Additionally, the ghd MK4 has great tension control, which means I didn’t have to give myself carpal tunnel squeezing the plates together super hard as I straightened each section of my hair. Minimal tension worked just fine thank you.

This iron comes nicely packaged with a step-by-step DVD included in the box which is great for you newbies, but obviously you can always catch a styling video here on our blog if you need some extra help – check out Flat Iron Styling with GHD.

This iron gets two snaps up in Z formation. Watch out competition (ahem CHI), there’s a top player in town, the GHD MK4 has arrived and it’s fabulous! I hope more people get past the pricey price point and give it a try, it really is worth it.

P.S. The ghd MK4 also has an awesome auto adjust feature for international voltages so I can style my way around the world, if I ever get to do that…

9 Responses

  1. I have been working for more than twenty years as a hairdresser and I have seen flat irons evolve. The GHD irons are light-years ahead of everything else I have ever used.
    Do you notice that the hair seems to stray straight longer than with other irons you have tested?

  2. Ghd stylers are a great product. they have changed a hairdressers job considerably. There versatiliy also make them stand out with your ability to curl, add volume and style the hair. Not that you can’t do this with other stylers./straighteners but the movement behind ghd has helpd encourage hairdressers to become more imaginative and creative with the stylers

    you just have to look at the education that ghd are developing including ghd expert tours. ghd expert seminars, courses, product ranges, trend predictions, the ghd directive and more has helped people in the industry to look at straighteners as more than just straighteners

  3. […] 1- GHD MK4 1-inch Flat Iron – pure Ceramic power and technology – this iron gets my hair the straightest it can be and frizz is no longer an ”issue”. It also creates really believable curls if you practice. It’s a little pricey, but I love the bells and whistles: Dual voltage, stronger cable, auto shut off ’sleep mode’. Everyone knows I rave about the GHD MK4 iron – it’s THAT good. (Read a review) […]

  4. […] Move over CHI! StyleBell declares GHD’s newest offering as one of the the best flat irons on the market. […]

  5. […] reviews one of the best flat irons on the market the GHD. Move over […]

  6. […] reviews one of the best flat irons on the market the GHD. Move over […]

  7. […] reviews one of the best flat irons on the market the GHD. Move over […]

  8. I’ve had my MK4 ghd’s for 4 months now and I don’t know how I ever lived without them. It takes me about 10 mns to straighten my long, wavy frizzy hair, and the best thing is that it stays straight until I wash it again! Absolutely brilliant!

Leave a comment